Student Information

Academic Calendar 2017-2018 (as of April 1st)

e3/Graduate School of Engineering Academic Calendar 2017-2018

First Semester (Spring and Summer Quarters)

Events Dates/time
Graduate School entrance ceremony April 3 (Mon) 12:00~
e3 Newcomers oreinatation April 4 (Tue) 9:30~
First day of lectures (First Semester/ Spring Quarter) April 5 (Wed)
   Spring Quarter Apr 5 (Tue) - Jun 5 (Mon)
   Summer Quarter Jun 6 (Tue) - Aug 3 (Thu)
Orientation for international students at OIA April 10 (Mon)
Classes pre-registration period for e3 students April 1~April 18 (Tue)
Deadline for course registration (Spring and Summer Quarters) April 18 (Tue)
Student regular health checkup for doctoral course, master's course, research students Mid April
Substitute day for Friday lectures (no Monday lectures) May 15 (Mon)
【Last lectures for Spring term】  
   Last Friday lectures (8th week) May 26 (Fri)
   Last Tuesday lectures (8th week) May 30 (Tue)
   Last Wednesday lectures (8th week) May 31 (Wed)
   Last Thursday lectures (8th week) June 1 (Thu)
   Last Monday lectures (8th week) June 5 (Mon)
Application deadline for October 2017 intake (Master's and Doctoral program) May 31 (Wed)
   
"Hokudaisai" festival (June 2 - no lectures) June 2 (Fri) - June 4(Sun)
First day of lectures at gradaute school (Summer quarter) June 5 (Mon)
Hokudai sports day (No lectures) June 30 (Fri)
Open Campus August 6 (Sun) - August 7 (Mon)
Substitute day for Friday lectures (no Thursday lectures) June 29 (Thu)
Substitute day for Monday lectures (no Wednesday lectures) July 19 (Wed)
【Last lectures for Summer term】  
   Last Tuesday lectures (8th week) July 25 (Tue)
   Last Friday lectures (8th week) July 28 (Fri)
   Last Monday lectures (8th week) July 31 (Mon)
   Last Wednesday lectures (8th week) August 2 (Wed)
   Last Thursday lectures (8th week) August 3 (Thu)
Summer break (Engineering building closed between 11-16 August) August 4 (Fri) - September 29 (Fri)
Public thesis defence (Doctoral program) Late July - Early August
Final presentations (Master's course) Early August
Entrance examination for Master's/Doctoral course August 8 (Tue) - August 10 (Thu)
Doctoral students progress evaluation (D1, D2 October enrollment) August-September
e3 Field Trip Late August
Commencement ceremony September 25 (Mon)

Second Semester (Autumn and Winter Quarters)

 

Events Dates/time
e3 Newcomers orientation September 29 (Fri)
First day of lectures (Second semester/Autumn Quarter) October 2 (Mon)
   Autum quarter Oct 2 (Mon) -Nov 30 (Thu)
   Winter quarter Dec 1 (Fri) - Feb 5 (Mon)
Orientation for international students at OIA Early October
e3 Welcome trip Mid October
Classes pre-registration for e3 (Autumn and Winter quarters) September 26-October 16 (Mon)
Deadline for course registration (Autumn and Winter quarters) October 16 (Mon)
Cultural festival (No lectures - supplimentary lecture is possible till noon) October 24 (Tue)
【Last lectures for Autumn Quarter】  
   Last Friday lectures (8th week) November 24 (Fri)
   Last Monday lectures (8th week) November 27 (Mon)
   Last Tuesday lectures (8th week) November 28 (Tue)
   Last Wednesday lectures (8th week) November 29 (Wed)
   Last Thursday lectures (8th week) November 30 (Thu)
First day of lectures (Winter quarter) December 1 (Fri)
Application Deadline for e3 April 2018 intake (Master's and Doctoral program overseas and domestic applicants, Master's course students advancing to Doctoral program) November 15 (Wed)
Application Deadline for MEXT e3 Scholarship October 2018 intake (only applicants from overseas) November 15 (Wed)
Application Deadline for e3 MEXT extension application (MC=>DC) November 15 (Wed)
Presentations by M2 students applying for MEXT e3 extension Early December
Winter break December 28 (Thu) - January 3 (Wed)
Lectures resume January 4 (Thu)
Application fee payment period Beginning of January
Center entrance exams (January 12 - no lectures) January 13 (Sat) - 14 (Sun)
【Last lectures for Winter term】  
   Last Tuesday lectures (8th week) January 30 (Tue)
   Last Wednesday lectures (8th week) January 31 (Wed)
   Last Monday lectures (8th week) February 1 (Thu)
   Substitute day for Friday lectures, Last Friday lectures (8th week) February 2 (Mon)
   Last Monday lectures (8th week) (No Wednesday lectures) February 5 (Mon)
Doctoral students progress evaluation (D1, D2 April enrollment) January-March
Public thesis defence (Doctoral program) Late January - Early February
Final presentations (Master's course) Mid February
Entrance exam for M/D courses February 13 (Tue) - February 15 (Thu)
Commencement ceremony March 22 (Thu)

You have no rights to post comments